Workers compete
for safety awards

Finalists in the ninth annual Safe Work Australia Awards have been announced by Chair of Safe Work Australia, Ann Sherry.
  The awards honour workers and organisations for outstanding contributions towards making their workplaces safer.
  Ms Sherry congratulated the 37 finalists on their efforts in helping to keep Australian workers safe.
  “The level of innovation and commitment to work health and safety displayed by this year’s finalists is inspiring,” Ms Sherry said.
Finalists ‘inspiring’
“The best outcomes are achieved when everyone in the workplace actively participates in making the workplace safe.”
  Ms Sherry said the awards would be presented in four categories.
  “Tragically, in 2011-12, 228 workers died from an injury incurred at work. This figure demonstrates that more work is still needed to improve work health and safety in Australia and why we need to keep work health and safety top of mind each and every day,” she said.
  “The awards are a celebration of what can be achieved to reduce this alarming statistic and achieve the vision of healthy, safe and productive working lives.”
  The finalists are all winners of their respective categories at their work health and safety regulator awards in 2013. They represent organisations of all sizes and are from a variety of industries.
  Winners will be announced at the Safe Work Australia Awards ceremony in Canberra on 28 April.
  More information about the awards and a list of finalists can be found at this PS News link.
Email a friend

Your PS News Network

mapoz sa vic nswnsw wawa qldqld apsaps sasa act actact vicvic
World PS News