Independent News For The Australian Public Service
Edition Number 404. Updated Tuesday, 08 April 2014

Your PS News Network

mapoz sa vic nswnsw wawa qldqld apsaps sasa act actact vicvic
World PS News
Senior Appointments

Safety Commission chairperson resigns

The Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission Chairperson, Cameron Dick has resigned following his endorsement as a candidate for the Queensland Legislative Assembly by the Queensland Branch of the Australian Labor Party.

Comcare said his stewardship had resulted in significant progress for work health and safety at a national level, the delivery of access to fair and just worker's compensation and ensuring injured workers had a pathway back to productive and meaningful work.

Arrangements are under way for the appointment of an interim chairperson and the recruitment of a permanent chairperson for the Commission.


Appointees made to Financial Council

Jan Harris has been appointed, and Kevin Lewis has been reappointed, to the Financial Reporting Council as part-time members for a three-year term.

Ms Harris is currently the Executive Director, Markets Group with the Treasury and will act as a link between the Treasury and the Council.

Mr Lewis is currently a Group Executive with the Australian Securities Exchange with responsibility for compliance and investor education.


From previous editions

Binskin to lead ADF

Mark BinskinAir Marshal Mark Binskin (pictured) will become Chief of the Defence Force on 3 July.

Air Marshall Binskin, who was previously a former Chief of Air Force, is currently the Vice Chief of the Defence Force.

The Government has also recommended Vice Admiral Ray Griggs be appointed as Vice Chief of the Defence Force and Rear Admiral Tim Barrett as the incoming Chief of Navy.

Both will commence their appointments on 3 July for a period of four years.

Chief of Army, Lieutenant General David Morrison and Chief of Air Force, Air Marshal Geoff Brown will remain in their current positions until July 2015.

Rear Admiral David Johnston will succeed Lieutenant General Ash Power as the Chief of Joint Operations Command, commencing his appointment on 20 May.


Birrell to chair Infrastructure Australia

Mark BirrillMark Birrell (pictured) will succeed Sir Rod Eddington as the new Chairman of Infrastructure Australia when his term expires on 8 April 2014.

Sir Rod is to take up a role with the APEC Business Advisory Council.

Mr Birrell is currently a member of Infrastructure Australia and Chairman of the Port of Melbourne and founding Chairman of Infrastructure Partnerships Australia. He was a Victorian State Cabinet Minister.

Popular PS Content

International News

Public Service news and events from around the world

Talking Point

In depth discussions on current topical issues

Personal Development

Expert advice in areas such as training, development, grooming and health.

PS Infocus

Photos and faces from PS gatherings

PS Features

A weekly round-up of features of interest to the Public Service

Book Reviews

Reviews of some of the latest, most relevant books of interest to PS News readers

Pick of the Flicks

The latest and best in special interest and collectable DVDs and Blu-Ray movies

Out of Hours

With travel, wine and dine, motoring and movies

Email a friend